Where I’m Found

[X]

Where I’m Found
I could feel them.
The brittle, cool waves lapping at my feet.

They lick at me like a hungry horse, lapping on a sugar cube, eager and tenacious.

I don’t mind the slight stinging of the small, sharp shells at my ankles.

The stinging halts my mind as I trudge on, watching the moon slide steadily behind storm clouds.

The cold caress of the water is soothing and reminds me of when I was in Coney Island, though that seems like a distant dream, missing important details.

I want to step further out and let the waves lure me in deeper, and lull me into oblivion

when suddenly, my pondering is stopped by an unexpected voice.

I lift my head to find that you’ve been walking beside me the entire time….

Leave a Reply

