Room 8

Took your hand,
took you back in time.
I reminded you of all
that’s built on us

I knew you long before
I met you
I looked into your
honey brown eyes before
I touched your hand.

Cardinals and glass windows,
Seagreen walls and inside,
so much needed love to spare,
sharing stories and fears and hopes.

You are the beauty
the rest of the world
is missing.
You carved your name
along our heart’s walls.
I know it’s not what
others would think
but most don’t love like we do

Room 8,
we left a legacy
of heartbeats and handprints.
There were friendships and fights,
creativity bombs, igniting.
Before our eyes,
life was living.

Outside our windows,
robins created nests and cardinals
serended our ears while feeding.
Grackles and crows, chipped and whirled,
on fences and rooftops,
while sparrows and finches,
visited us, with cocked heads and beady eyes.

In our room, we painted our passion.
We opened our hearts and eyes,
especially mine.

5 Comments

  1. It’s funny how there’s some people that you meet where you feel like you’ve known them your whole life and that there’s an instant connection. That’s exactly what this poem reminds me of. Thanks for sharing and bringing up some fond memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes!!! That’s exactly what it’s about !! I worked with some incredible people and one person in particular really opened my eyes to an incredible place of belonging and it’s really healing. She’s a light for the kids without a doubt πŸ™‚ I’m lucky I got to work with her and the other passionate staff.

      Like

Leave a comment