3

I couldn’t comprehend the love you felt
All these years, I held the blame.
Though you told me it wasn’t my fault,
I felt it all the same

You couldn’t have done anything different
You couldn’t have cleared my gray skies
There was a demon inside me much bigger than you,
than I.

Though cut from the same cloth,
It was hidden deep behind.
It lied through pointed teeth, portraying itself as a smile.

I meant to love you
I meant to trust you
I meant to care
But I guess I forgot how to.

You thought I wanted control.
I wanted peace.
You thought I was lying to manipulate.
I was lying to save face for you.

This was who I would be.
Was I truly manipulative and spoiled?
Was I schizophrenic and out of touch?
Could they have been right ?
Would I be a liar, a con artist?

Wrong.
That was the story they wrote me in.
It was Not. MY. Story.

Thirty two and going strong.
I forgive myself because I was manipulated and wronged
by a system that vowed to protect me.
My words were warped, my scripting turned shady.
It was easy to twist my tongue.
I was too young, too innocent.

I didn’t know what it all meant, your twisted scheme.
The wicked words they spoke,
sat upon an innocent child’s shoulders for far too long.
I couldn’t handle the weight
at thirty, let alone, 3.

12 Comments

    1. Thank you, Linda. 🥹🤗🥰. Exactly! Everybody has something they’re dealing with. It’s important to remember that only you can control yourself and your destiny, best you can. Family and friends are always great support.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It really does help to heal. It’s a beautiful thing I went through, even though it was hard. My family and I are very close. They helped me heal and I, them. They are proud of who I am and that I proved those individuals wrong and still do, everyday. 🙂 God has us learn life lessons for a reason. I think my lesson was learned to help the children I work with now. Thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment