Ashes to Alive

What it means to be human
is still the greatest
question, even when we
believe we know why

Sunsets change, on the daily,
burning extensions of
primary colors sewn within the sky,
as we’re passing underneath.

We go through our lives,
trying to refrain,
from not remaining the same.

New colors are in,
with every passing season.

And we’re still
chasing an elusive fountain.

Transforming with the seasons,
we’re a living paradox,
preaching, “you only live once.”

Getting greedy, aren’t you?
Can’t have just one,
you steal two.

Our time will come.

We’ll close eyes.

Of that, I’ll admit
I’m petrified.

At least, I know,
I’ve risked falling,
continuously high balling.

Even if it doesn’t count for anything,
I’ve helped someone,
walk to the brighter side
of an average street.

Maybe, that’s all we need.






5 Comments

  1. I really enjoyed this piece. We’ll probably never know the meaning of life. And we’ll all die someday, a terrifying thought for sure. It’s best to enjoy all the moments and the friendships we make along the way. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! 110 percent truth! It is
      I know memories with loved ones makes my life more meaningful without a doubt 🤔🧐 💜❤️ thank you if your insightful message. I love reading your comments . I hope you’re having a great week and a great weekend coming !! Hopefully the humidity will chill out here as well as in Canada.

      Like

      1. Last week was brutal with the heat and humidity. I caved and turned by air conditioner on. I’m not ready for summer yet! Thankfully it’s cooled down and the temperatures are much more comfortable. Enjoy your weekend as well!

        Like

Leave a comment